IBD's 138th anniversary

Sally MacGarry, PhD student with the Scotch Whisky Research Institute (SWRI) and Edinburgh Napier University

Could you please introduce yourself briefly and share how you started working in the drinks industry?

My name is Sally, I’m currently a PhD student with the Scotch Whisky Research Institute (SWRI) and Edinburgh Napier University. My project is investigating new methods of sensory analysis for Scotch whisky. My first drinks industry job was when I was 18, I started working in a local bar and became fascinated with different spirits and mixology. My career was front of house in hospitality for quite a few years before I decided to go back to school to learn about the science of alcohol production. I’ve now been a winemaker, a brewer and many other things in between becoming a perpetual student of the alcohol sciences. Flavour is my key area of interest, given that it’s impacted by almost every area of production, there’s a lot still to learn!     

When did you become a member of the IBD, and what attracted you to become a member?

I first became aware of the IBD when I did an MSc in Brewing and Distilling at Heriot-Watt. I went on as many of the technical visits around Scotland I could and was really encouraged by how friendly and willing to share expertise people were. I particularly enjoy the cross over of brewers and distillers as they share and learn each others similar but also very different production techniques, it really opens up an opportunity for discourse in a mixed crowd.    

Can you share a highlight or memorable experience from your time as a member of the IBD so far?