IBD's 138th anniversary

Iain Brannigan, Distiller at Teeling Whiskey Co

Could you please introduce yourself briefly and share how you started working in the drinks industry?

My name is Iain Brannigan, and I started my career in the craft beer industry in New Brunswick, Canada in 2014. I worked my way up from the cellar to brewhouse, and studied briefly at VLB-Berlin, along with becoming a BJCP judge.  I worked at multiple breweries, and in that time my roles ranged from Cellarman, R&D Brewer/Small Batch Brewer, Production Brewer, Head Brewer and I even got to build a wood-aging program, before moving to Dublin, Ireland in late 2019. After a slight pivot thanks to COVID, I have been working as a Distiller for just over three years at Teeling Whiskey Co in Dublin.

When did you become a member of the IBD, and what attracted you to become a member?

I became a member of the IBD in 2021, and I wrote the exam for the IBD General Certificate in Distilling in March 2023. Since completing that, I have moved onto the Diploma in Brewing, and am currently studying to write the Module 1 exam this June!

Can you share a highlight or memorable experience from your time as a member of the IBD so far?

The biggest highlight of my time as a member of the IBD was the Czechia Study Trip 2023 last year. It was an incredible experience, especially since those breweries had been on my bucket list for years. It was fantastic to get the complete technical run down on the process and those facilities, among a group of very eager and knowledgeable peers!

How do you see the industry evolving in the coming years, and what opportunities or challenges do you anticipate?