IBD's 138th anniversary

Theo Leadbeater, Brewer at AB InBev's Camden Town Brewery

Could you please introduce yourself briefly and share how you started working in the drinks industry?

I studied Chemical Engineering at the University of Manchester and my thought process on picking a career path can be simplified to: Chemical engineers produce things on a large scale. What’s the best thing you can produce on a large scale? Answer: Beer. Nuff said.

My first job was at Gipsy Hill Brewing Co. as a Brew Tech in a primarily packaging role, then to AB InBev’s Camden Town Brewery in Enfield as a Shift Brewer and, in May this year, I will be starting my new role as Brewing Shift Manager at Heineken’s Manchester brewery.  

When did you become a member of the IBD, and what attracted you to become a member?

I got involved with the IBD’s brewing learning material early, starting with the Foundation in Brewing course; then the General Certificate in Brewing; and now I am partway through my Diploma in Brewing. I signed up for the IBD’s Student Membership at the start of 2023. In truth, the main attraction was that the Student Membership was reasonably priced at £48 (this is not an ad) and I had already been interested in some of the IBD’s previous events.

Since becoming a member, I have visited a maltings, a hop farm, breweries in the UK and overseas, attended a brewing conference, and joined committee meetings for the IBD Southern Section as a committee member.

Getting involved with the IBD has been a great way to widen my network, develop my career, and to professionally show that I am passionate about beer to a prospective employer (without just saying I like to drink beer at the pub).

Can you share a highlight or memorable experience from your time as a member of the IBD so far?