IBD's 138th anniversary

Brian Eaton, Life Fellow of the IBD

Could you please introduce yourself briefly and share how you started working in the drinks industry? 

Coming through University taking Chemical Engineering, I had no great wish to be a brewer or distiller. I wanted to be an oil man. Having worked for Shell Research for 18 months before University, I thought I stood a good chance but in the year that I graduated, Shell took no chemical engineers and ICI took only three, instead of their usual one hundred.  

So, I had to look about and Allied Breweries, who were number one brewer in the UK, offered me a position as a Production Management Trainee, which included a year’s MSc course in Malting and Brewing Science at Birmingham University. As luck would have it, a few weeks after accepting the job with Allied Breweries, I was offered a job as a Drilling Engineer for Anglo American in Caracas, Venezuela, but I had made my choice and one that I have never regretted. 

What I did not know until many years later was that there was brewing in my family history. My great great grandfather, George Eaton, founded the Northgate Brewery in Chester and it was later passed on to his son and grandson, both Peter Eaton. The brewery eventually became part of Greenall Whitley of Warrington and closed in 1956. 

When did you become a member of the IBD, and what attracted you to become a member?